Lindsay Cooper Songbook concert at Cafe OTO, London

When: March 8 2019

Where: London, United Kingdom


Lindsay Cooper Songbook Celebrating International Women's Day at Cafe OTO

with THE WATTS + Chlöe Herington (solo) + Mitsuru Nasuno (solo) + Atsuko Kamura (solo) + Marina Organ (DJ)

18-22 Ashwin Street, E8 3DL London, United Kingdom


...Each sound they played was polished to the extent that no other sounds would have been suitable to play Lindsay Cooper's music’
'I was extremely impressed by this superior ensemble which recreated Lindsay Cooper's music in the best form imaginable.' Osamu Sakamoto (EURO ROCK PRESS)

A selection of Lindsay’s compositions for the groups Henry Cow, News From Babel and Music for Films, 1978 – 1982.

- Yumi Hara / arrangements, piano, keyboards, lever harp, voice (The Artaud Beats, you me & us, Jump for Joy! etc)
- Chlöe Herington / bassoon, soprano sax, melodica (Knifeworld, Chrome Hoof, VÄLVĒ)
- Atsuko Kamura / voice (Polka Dot Fire Brigade, Frank Chickens, Kamura Obscura, etc)
- Tim Hodgkinson / clarinet, alto sax, lap steel guitar (Henry Cow, Konk Pack, The Hyperion Ensemble, etc)
- Chris Cutler / drums (Henry Cow, News from Babel, Peter Bregvad Quintet, Himmel, The Hyperion Ensemble, etc)
- Mitsuru Nasuno / bass (Korekyojinn, Ground Zero, etc)

Lindsay Cooper (1951-2013) brought the bassoon and the compositional techniques of 20th century art music into the world of ‘70s experimental rock. She was a musical polyglot, equally fluent in classical, rock, jazz, and free improvisation and the author of many film and theatre soundtracks. She was a member of the groups Comus, Henry Cow, National Health, David Thomas and the Pedestrians and the Mike Westbrook Orchestra. She co-founded News from Babel and the Feminist Improvising Group and led her own projects Music for Films and Oh Moscow. She lived for many years with multiple sclerosis, which eventually forced her to retire from performing in the 1990s.​

Yumi Hara formed Half The Sky in 2015 to perform Lindsay Cooper’s songs in Japan. The original group was entirely Japanese, with the exception of original drummer and lyricist Chris Cutler. This group - with small personnel changes - was later invited to Europe, where it was joined by the songs’ original singer Dagmar Krause. Tim Hodgkinson, also from Henry Cow, joined us in 2018 and we play as the Lindsay Cooper Songbook. Like the original bands, the Songbook retains an equal gender split.


Yumi Hara is a Japanese composer and performer based in London. Her compositions have been performed by contemporary classical musicians such as the BBC Singers, PianoCircus, Michael Bonaventure and Jane Chapman, and was a finalist for British Composer Awards 2006, but became increasingly known as an improvisor/performer in avant/experimental rock/Canterbury/RIO since she released a CD album 'Dune' with Hugh Hopper (ex-Soft Machine) in 2008, subsequently formed bands and projects including The Artaud Beats (with Chris Cutler, John Greaves, Geoff Leigh, all from Henry Cow), you me & us (with Daevid Allen of Gong, Chris Cutler), Jump for Joy! (with Jean-Hervé Péron, Zappi and Geraldine Swayne of faUSt, Chris Cutler, Geoff Leigh) and THE WATTS (with Tim Hodgikinson, Chris Cutler). She is senior lecturer in music at University of East London.

Half the Sky video at Cafe OTO 2017

Lindsay Cooper Songbook video at Zappanale 2018

The Watts

Tim Hodgkinson / Chris Cutler / Yumi Hara

The Watts make up a mixture of songs, instrumentals and noisescapes. They try not to discriminate too much between highly abstract, polyrhythmic or groove based explorations.


Lindsay Cooper Songbook is supported using public funding by ARTS COUNCIL OF ENGLAND

  • Facebook
  • YouTube

Join the community